Hectic Mum

Sydney Mum finding motherhood is totes hectic

3 weeks to go

The new master will be here on September 10th; 3 weeks away.  He’s all booked in as a cesarean birth, which is absolutely my choice.

We’ve just been to Ikea to stock up on bits, the family is coming over this weekend to help assemble and re-arrange the house, the double pram was bought from ebay and we’ve purchased a gift for Miss 19months when her brother arrives.

As much as I’m sick of being pregnant, which any heavily pregnant person will tell you the same, it’s just tiring and heavy and you want your body back, I am amazed at what my body is doing.   My stomach, engorged like a beach ball, is shiny and tight, almost fake.  My face and arms look skinny next to all this.  Apparently my skin is glowing.

It’s also the last 3 weeks I’ll ever be pregnant in my life.  I won’t miss it, but I do feel extraordinarily blessed/ privileged/ humble about the whole thing. *stopping to wipe a tear*

At the beginning of 2008, 4 years ago, I had no idea I would lose my mother, watch my business decline to the point of closing,  have therapy for depression, be audited for tax, and finally, at the very end of the year (December 28th, precisely) , meet my baby-daddy, at the age of 41.

My long convoluted path to being a mother and faux-wife makes me laugh.  I knew you had to commit to it, to look after your man, look and feel like rubbish some days, not go out much and have a house covered in lego and books, as well as the exhaustion, but shit is it amazing.

2 comments on “3 weeks to go

  1. Oh Gorgeous Baby
    September 4, 2012

    I just came across your blog after we both commented on a Babyology blog post. Good Luck with birth of your baby boy. I just welcomed a baby boy 4weeks ago.
    Fee

    Like

  2. Catriona Carver
    September 8, 2012

    congrats! thanks for your comments (one of my first & must look for how to turn on comment notification!) The Babyology site is dreadfully addictive ! all the best Cat

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2012 by in cesarean, parenting.
